Dee, Demons and Necromancy

A Magician by Edward Kelly (cropped).jpg

John Dee and Edward Kelley conjure the dead (Sibley 1806) Copyright: Wikicommons

 

Welcome to my new blog, everybody! To begin I thought it best just to provide a few links to articles I’ve written for other blogs, based on the research I conducted for the Magic, Witches and Devils in the Early Modern World exhibition held at the John Rylands Library in Manchester.

 

Here’s a little something on John Dee’s marginalia I wrote for the Inner Lives website

 

The exhibition also included a number of copies of the Shahnama (the Persian ‘Book of Kings’). See my overview of the Shahnama’s witch and demon stories for the Manchester Medieval Society blog

 

On the John Rylands Special Collections Blog you can read my explanation for the curious image of the ‘sweeping’ woman found in the library’s copy of the Concordantiae Caritatis typological handbook.

 

In recent months I’ve become increasingly interesting in early modern necromancy. Chetham’s Library contains a fascinating copy of the Pseudo-Roger Bacon Tractatus di Necromantia, which I wrote about for the Chetham’s Blog

Leave a Reply

